Les Miserable auditions, please help

Chat about any aspect of your child's Casting or Audition

Moderator: busybusybusy

Silvia
Nominee

Les Miserable auditions, please help

Post by Silvia »

Hello,

First I would like to thank all the users and contributors to this site; it is here that I found the link for the audition to Les Mis.

My daughter has now been called to audition for the part of the young Cosette and she is extremely excited , since it is her first audition ever for a West End show!!! It is also our first as parents (I am a scientist, my husband an engineer and we know virtually nothing of performing) and would like any tips/dos and donts/ personal experiences as you may be willing to share.

Also, would it be appropriate for me to ask a schedule of the rehearsal and performances ( time/ frequency/ place) to Jo Hawes? I would like more details as to the time commitment. Should I do so now by e-mail or ask her on the date of audition?
And finally, I guess , if successful, I will need somenone like a nanny to take my daughter to and from rehearsals and shows; I would be grateful for any suggestion.

Please help, I am quite out of my depths, the auditions are this coming wed on 23 January and I only knew of this yesterday.

Many thanks

Silvia
pinky3
GRAMMY Award

Re: Les Miserable auditions, please help

Post by pinky3 »

Also - they will be asked to sing Castle on a Cloud for sure - so she should practise that if she can.
LaceyLou
Nominee

Post by LaceyLou »

When my dd auditioned they were asked to sing happy birthday? Not sure if its the same nowadays as that was years ago but I suppose it won't hurt running through it a couple of times! Best wishes for her audition!
tizzy
BRIT Award

Post by tizzy »

:lol:
Last edited by tizzy on Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Flosmom
OSCAR Award

Post by Flosmom »

Tizzy, this thead dates back to 2013 so I guess Silvia's DD has finished her auditions by now :lol: