Street dance competitions

Moderator: busybusybusy

Jeanie
GRAMMY Award

Street dance competitions

Post by Jeanie »

Anyone have experience of them or know what the judges are looking for?

I imagine the most important thing is musicality and dancing to the beat. However, there are so many styles within street dance: locking, breaking, popping etc - should a contestant be 'throwing' some of these moves?

My DD (age 7) is through to the IDTA Nationals Under 9 solos. She's commercial Street and has an easy flow to her dancing. However, her tricks are beginner level. Should she be aiming for an air freeze or worm or stay on her feet? I'm sure the level will be high - "Akai" standard (though boys and girls are in different streams).

Thanks
francescasmum
OSCAR Award

Re: Street dance competitions

Post by francescasmum »

Sorry don't know anything about boddy popping, unless you count my knees popping out of joint on a regular basis, then I suppose I am an expert. Anyway well done to you DD, excellent at such a young age, if she has got to this level doing what she is comfortable doing then she is obviously doing it right! =D>
riverdancefan
OSCAR Award

Post by riverdancefan »

You might be better popping over to dance.net, there is a section on street competitions and usually people are forthcoming with advice :D
"Tall and proud my mother taught me, this is how we dance" - RIVERDANCE
Jeanie
GRAMMY Award

Post by Jeanie »

Thanks ladies, I'll pop over to dance net and will have a mooch there. I suspect your right, leave her to get on with what comes natural and let her enjoy the experience. Sometimes, I overthink these things!
sophiesocks
OSCAR Award

Post by sophiesocks »

wow congratulations to her :)
DancerBoy
BRIT Award

Post by DancerBoy »

Hi Jeanie,

I have a DS, that is a street dancer. He is very good and has won almost all of his competitions and heats. If you are still on this forum, PM me and I will give you some more advice. :) :) \:D/ \:D/
DancerBoy