CAT Auditions at The Place, London

Moderator: busybusybusy

Livy2
GRAMMY Award

CAT Auditions at The Place, London

Post by Livy2 »

Hi,

Is anyone else going to the Audition on 18 April? Or can anyone who's been before or been accepted at the Place, give my DD some advice? She's 14.

Thanks
Kitschqueen
GRAMMY Award

Re: CAT Auditions at The Place, London

Post by Kitschqueen »

Hi, firstly good luck to your DD for the 18th.

I have no first hand experience of The Place auditions but my DD successfully auditioned for a CAT place at Northern School of Contemporary Dance in Leeds last year. I do not know how different (or similar) the audition processes are but this was her experience, I hope you find it useful.

At her first audition (open day), they did an hour contemporary technique class and an hour creative class where they had to work individually and in groups. My daughter did not find it too difficult (she was 14 too) and at that time she had never taken a contemporary class but had been studying ballet and other styles for a number of years.

Remember they are looking for potential not qualified dancers so as long as your daughter attempts things she has not done before and tries to look like she is enjoying herself (easier said than done!) I am sure that is half the battle. I told my daughter to view the first auditon as a workshop opportunity and to ask questions of the teachers if she was unsure of what was being asked of her.

We were told on the day whether or not they were being taken through to the second audition and were also informed that they would have to prepare a minute solo and give a small talk about their inspiration for this!!. 8-[ We were given dates to attend a free pre-audition workshop prior to the second audition where they were given guidance from staff about their solos. Don't panic about this though because I think it is only at the Northern where they have to do solos.