mountview advice needed

A place to talk about full time schools and post 16 training.

Moderator: busybusybusy

scottishdancer00
BRIT Award

mountview advice needed

Post by scottishdancer00 »

Sorry for the multitude of forum posts but I have no experience and no idea how to advise Dd. She is auditioning for Mountview on the 3rd of Jan and we just don’t know what she should wear . She has a black pretty leotard and pink tights for the dance section and either a pretty top and jeans or a nice floral dress for the singing / acting . Is this okay - or is it leggings and Tshirts etc ?
Also I know that they get asked to split themselves into beginner and advanced dancers. My DD has been dancing everyday this year but minimal experience before that. Would you say it’s better to go advanced and risk not looking self aware or go beginner and risk looking like she’s taking the lazy option ?
Thankyou all for all the advice you give us !!
performmum
BRIT Award

Re: mountview advice needed

Post by performmum »

Hey, leotard and tights are good for dancing. If she is not an advanced dancer I would suggest not going in that group. Many dancers have been dancing since they can walk and will have all of their dance exams. Better to look stronger in the less advanced section than weak in the advanced in my opinion.
Singing and drama outfits are a matter of comfort & personal style. At the end of the day feeling confident in what you are wearing is more important, so try and wear something that reflects personality and compliments the style of the song and monologue.
More importantly, relax and enjoy the experience. Good luck to your DD x
Marissa
GRAMMY Award

Post by Marissa »