Any Gilbert & Sullivan buffs out there?

Ask each other for help and advice!

Moderator: busybusybusy

fartoomuchtodo
GRAMMY Award

Any Gilbert & Sullivan buffs out there?

Post by fartoomuchtodo »

Hi, my DS is putting together (with my help!) his Grade 7 music theatre programme and there's a requirement for a pre-1900s piece. His singing teacher has suggested G&S and I know he will have some thoughts but I want to do some research of my own.

I know nothing about G&S and so far, everything I've found has really only been suitable for women or older men. DS has just turned 13 and has a high alto voice. If anyone has any ideas I'd be grateful :)
possiblypushy
GRAMMY Award

Re: Any Gilbert & Sullivan buffs out there?

Post by possiblypushy »

My ds did Pirates Of Penzance at school earlier this year. Like you, I knew nothing about G&S but absolutely fell in love with it. I'm not a musician but I think "Oh, is there not one maiden breast?" sung by Frederick, might suit very well.
francescasmum
OSCAR Award

Re: Any Gilbert & Sullivan buffs out there?

Post by francescasmum »