Exactly what does your agent do?

Ask each other for help and advice!

Moderator: busybusybusy

fartoomuchtodo
GRAMMY Award

Exactly what does your agent do?

Post by fartoomuchtodo »

It's looking increasingly likely that my DS will soon be asked to sign a contract with a major entertainment corporation (begins with D ends in Y). We signed a contact for a pilot in Feb of this year - in fact we signed 3 because they kept sending revisions :roll: There were a lot of clauses about options, rights and limits on other work :-s I read it and did my best to understand but at the end of the day, though reasonably intelligent, I'm no lawyer. Of course there was little option - if he wanted the work we had to sign so we did. Thankfully the pilot seems to have been a success and we expect a series to be made next year \:D/

My question is around how far an agent gets involved in the contract and negotiation. Does their remit include just getting the job and then it's down to us to negotiate fees, contract terms etc or do they usually advise? With the best will in the world we can't afford a solicitor and I'm at the point where I almost feel my DS needs a full time manager - not a mum ;) Any advice appreciated :)
pg
OSCAR Award

Re: Exactly what does your agent do?

Post by pg »

Very definitely your agent should be the one looking at and negotiating the contracts - that is actually what you pay them for. Lots of people think of agents as being the means to getting work (and of course they may be able to get you in through some doors if they have good contacts) but really, their "real" job starts when you're being offered the work.