Self tapes and monologues - a bit of market research!

Ask each other for help and advice!

Moderator: busybusybusy

pg
OSCAR Award

Self tapes and monologues - a bit of market research!

Post by pg »

Hello NAPMers! May I pick your brains?

I’ve been contributing to this forum on and off for several years – though I haven’t visited all that much over the last couple of years. I’ve now moved more or less full time to Spain – and very lovely it is too. You can find out more about me on http://www.helengrady.com

I do come back to the UK to work every now and again and both my children (very much grown up now!) are still based there.

For those who don’t know anything about me: I’m an actor/writer/director – though doing much less acting these days – and my son is a professional actor. My daughter still sings occasionally (some of you will remember!) and is now working in the charity sector. I have also worked as an adjudicator for the British and International Federation of Festivals.

My question is;

Would you/your offspring/actors-you-know find it useful to have written feedback on self-taped audition pieces, monologues or showreels?

If you think you would find it useful, do you think you would be prepared to pay for it? Do you have an idea of what an acceptable/attractive price might be? How quickly would you expect the feedback and what kind of feedback would be most useful to you?

I’m mulling over various ideas and this one came about because two individuals have – independently of one another – asked me for exactly this and offered to pay me. I therefore wondered whether it was something I could offer more widely.