Help RE:School being difficult

Ask each other for help and advice!

Moderator: busybusybusy

Cyrenna10
BRIT Award

Help RE:School being difficult

Post by Cyrenna10 »

Hi everyone!

I'm new to all this but hoping someone can help.
My daughter signed to an agency in the summer. Her school initially said they would not be happy about it but would support her. Now they have said they will authorise 5 days a year! Having spoken to the LEA I know they can and will go above the school to licence her without their input but I'm worried! The lady at the LEA said the school would have to have a very good reason to turn it down and they won t be able to give one. My daughter has had 100% attendance the last 3 years, she's a free reader and top in all subjects in her class (she's year 3).
Will the school being unsupportive mean her licence is slowed down a lot? Will her agency be angry? I'm not sure what to do. I'm intending to challenge the school on this as soon as their offer letter arrives. So ridiculous!
Anyone with any experience that can offer any insight would be great!
mum2two
BRIT Award

Re: Help RE:School being difficult

Post by mum2two »

Are school aware that if a big project, she will have a tutor on set?
Cyrenna10
BRIT Award

Post by Cyrenna10 »

The school don't seem to care. They seem to be dismissing it and their stance is that I should be extremely grateful for the 5 days they've offered. My daughter had to turn down a part with 6 days commitment over this month and next because of a problem with travel and I supplied the email about it as an example. When school phoned they said "We would authorise 5 of the 6 days but she wouldn't be authorised the 6th day"...yeah, that's how this works?! I don't understand why they are being so difficult when the law basically says if the dates are k own they MUST be authorised.
islandofsodor
OSCAR Award

Post by islandofsodor »